Proof of Insurance
Proof of insurance (binder, policy, or card) from a certified Florida agent or broker is required to purchase and renew a license plate in Florida.
The vehicle owner must present documentation of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) in the amount of at least $10,000 combined bodily injury liability and property damage liability insurance in the amount of $10,000. Motorcycles, mobile homes and trailers are exempt from the insurance requirement.
Should you cancel your insurance for any reason and your tag is still valid, you should surrender your license plate to your local tax collector's office, in order to comply with Florida's financial responsibilty laws and avoid suspension of your driver license.